CWL Logo

CWLCon 2024

CWLCon 2024

The 2024 CWL Conference will be held in Amsterdam from the Wednesday 15 May to Friday 17 May!

The conference talks will be shared in the CWL Matrix room. This means presenters and participants may choose to attend in-person event or engage remotely.

There will also be an in-person training event on Tuesday 14th of May

For those in different timezones, we will have two four-hour online-only presentations with Q&As the week before. These will span from Wednesday 8 May to Friday 10 May.

▹Submissions are open and will close on Friday March 15 2024 ◃

Photo from a previous conference.

Call for Submissions

JOIN US FOR THE 4th ANNUAL CWL CONFERENCE & 10th ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION

The Common Workflow Language (CWL) project originated from the conversations at the 2014 Bioinformatics Open Source Conference CodeFest. CWL is a well-known and advocated standard for describing how to run command line tools and connect them to create workflows. The CWL annual conference was first held online in 2021. It has since been held online and hybrid mode in the past two years.

Building on the experience from the past, the CWL 2024 conference will be hosted as a hybrid event in the Netherlands and online. The conference will feature contributed talks from speakers, vendor presentations, training sessions, and a hackathon / collaboration-fest. There will also be many networking opportunities at the conference.

The conference organising committee will invite abstracts from any discipline. The target audiences for this conference include existing or potential CWL users, research software engineers, and workflow engine developers. We aim to provide immersive learning opportunities and stimulating environment for individuals from varying background and interests.

Moreover, our conference is dedicated to fostering inclusiveness, urging active involvement, and welcoming contributions from individuals with diverse backgrounds. Collectively, we aim to create a collaborative and supportive environment that fosters the development of ideas and solutions.

Please use the following Google Form to submit your talk!

If you submit an expression of interest to give a talk, we will let you know what session you have been allocated along with the duration of your talk as soon as possible.

Should you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to the organisers directly.

Registrations for presentations are now open and will close on Friday March 15 2024!

Registration

Registrations for attendance and will close on Friday March 15, 2024!

Please fill out the following Google Form, to register your attendance. You will get an automatic email confirming your form has been received.

Video presentations will be due Monday April 22 2024

Back to top

Week 1


Session 1 (Online only)
Wednesday 8 May

(Americas friendly time)

A four-hour online conference session for those in the Americas, Europe, Middle East, and Africa.
The session time for your timezone can be found below.


Date Time Zone Time
Wednesday 8 May Pacific Daylight Time 08:00 - 12:00
Wednesday 8 May Eastern Daylight Time 11:00 - 15:00
Wednesday 8 May UTC Time 15:00 - 19:00
Wednesday 8 May Central European Summer Time 17:00 - 21:00



Session 2 (Online only)
Thursday 9 May / Friday 10 May

(APAC-Americas Friendly time)

A four-hour online conference session for Asia-Pacific / Americas timezones.
The session time for your timezone can be found below.


Date Time Zone Time
Thursday 9 May Pacific Daylight Time 16:00 - 20:00
Thursday 9 May Eastern Daylight Time 19:00 - 23:00
Friday 10 May Japanese Standard Time 08:00 - 12:00
Friday 10 May Australian Eastern Standard Time 09:00 - 13:00



Week 2


CWL Training event (Amsterdam only)
Tuesday 14 May

13:00 - 17:00 Central European Summer Time (Separate signup, limited room)




Session 3 (Amsterdam / Online hybrid)
Wednesday 15 May

(APAC-EMEA Friendly time)

This session will both be in-person in Amsterdam and online
 


Date Time Zone Time
Wednesday 15 May UTC Time 06:30 - 10:30
Wednesday 15 May Central European Summer Time 08:30 - 12:30
Wednesday 15 May Japanese Standard Time 15:30 - 19:30
Wednesday 15 May Australian Eastern Standard Time 16:30 - 20:30



Session 4 (Amsterdam / Online hybrid)
Wednesday 15 May

(EMEA Friendly time)

This session will both be in-person in Amsterdam and online
 


Date Time Zone Time
Wednesday 15 May US Eastern Daylight Time 07:30 - 11:30
Wednesday 15 May UTC Time 11:30 - 15:30
Wednesday 15 May Central European Summer Time 13:30 - 17:30
Wednesday 15 May Japanese Standard Time 20:30 - 00:30



Session 5 (Amsterdam / Online hybrid)
Thursday 16 May

(APAC-EMEA Friendly time)

This session will both be in-person in Amsterdam and online
 


Date Time Zone Time
Thursday 16 May UTC Time 06:00 - 10:00
Thursday 16 May Central European Summer Time 08:00 - 12:00
Thursday 16 May Japanese Standard Time 15:00 - 19:00
Thursday 16 May Australian Eastern Standard Time 16:00 - 20:00


In-person small groups
(Amsterdam only)
Thursday 16 May

09:00 - 17:30 Central European Summer Time




Co-working / Hackathon
(Amsterdam only)
Friday 17 May

09:00 - 17:30 Central European Summer Time




Directions

Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
De Boelelaan 1105, 1081 HV Amsterdam, Netherlands.
Location of VU Amsterdam on Google Maps
Event venue map.

Health and Safety

The event has a Health and Safety policy (inspired by publichealthpledge.com).

The policy comprises the following components:

  • In-person participants will be required to wear a FFP3 face mask.
  • Any scheduled meals and coffee breaks will be outside.
  • Attendees will be expected to perform a rapid COVID-19 test prior to participating each day.
  • The CO2 level in the rooms will be monitored to ensure good ventilation (PPM under 1000).

If the policy changes it is only strengthened - never weakened - between the event's announcement and the event itself.

Back to top

Code of Conduct

This event will be held in accordance with the CWL Code of conduct.

The CWL Project is dedicated to providing a harassment-free experience for everyone, regardless of gender, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, disability, physical appearance, body size, age, race, or religion.We do not tolerate harassment of participants in any form.

This code of conduct applies to all CWL Project spaces, including the Google Group, the Matrix chat room, the Google Hangouts chats, both online and off.

Anyone who violates this code of conduct may be sanctioned or expelled from these spaces at the discretion of the leadership team.

For more details, see our Code of Conduct.

Back to top